top of page


A Sisterhood Called to Service: Transforming Lives & Impacting Communities

Our 22 Illustrious Founders 

(First Row): Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Frederica Chase Dodd; 


(Second Row): Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, Edith Mott Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza P. Shippen;


(Third Row): Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson.


 For more information, visit our national website at

On January 13, 1913, on the campus of Howard University, 22 dynamic African-American women founded Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, based on the principles of sisterhood, scholarship, and service.


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.


Today, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. remains a service sorority dedicated to public service and remains at the forefront of accomplishments for African-Americans and women.


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is unparalleled regarding accomplishments as a whole, as well as those of individual members. This includes over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea


The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: 

1. Economic Development

2. Physical and Mental Health

3. Educational Development

4. Political Awareness and Involvement

5. International Awareness and Involvement


bottom of page